.:: Usoft Technologie ::.  

Go Back   .:: Usoft Technologie ::. > .:: Smart Phone‏ ::. > Samsung Galaxy S3, Samsung Galaxy S2, Apps, Games, Accessories, Android

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2013, 07:00 AM
Administrator

Default Failed to obtain IP., about Galaxy Note 10.1

UsoftTech :: WwW.UsoftTech.CoM ::

Failed to obtain IP.

So, weird thing started to happen last night. Both my Samsung devices ( my 2014 10.1 and my S4) started failing to get an IP from my wifi network. It would see the wifi network and report a strong signal, but would fail at the obtaining IP address. The IP assignment is handled by a Windows DHCP service running on a domain controller. I work in IT so I have a fairly extensive lab at home with routers, switches, servers, domain controllers, etc. The wireless access point in my home is a WNDR3700 with no WAN port config as my firewall/routing is done by a Cisco ASA 5505. All the 3700 does is provide wireless access to the network, essentially it acts solely as a wifi AP. Every other wireless device on the network is functioning fine including 3 laptops, a Blackberry and two other Android tablets ( Asus Transformers). So I know nothing is wrong with the dhcp or the AP in general. It's not a security issue as it is not failing on authentication, just on obtaining IP. So as a workaround I configured each one with a static IP and, of course, everything works fine.